morgan at orst.edu
Tue Jul 6 12:19:40 EDT 2010
On Mon, 5 Jul 2010, Riccardo Veraldi wrote:
> I recently deleted some mailboxes.
> Some of them where recreated with the same mailbox name.
> So now i have the new mailboxes
> but issuing a lm command I still can see the old mailboxes are still
> existent like wit the DELETED prefix:
> how can I purge the old mailboxes in the mailboxes.db without damage to
> the new mailboxes
> and without damage to the content of mailboxes in /var/spool/imap ??
This is a feature of Cyrus. See the following from the imapd.conf
If "delete_mode" set to be "delayed", the prefix for the deleted
mailboxes hierarchy. The hierarchy delimiter will be automati‐
The manner in which mailboxes are deleted. "Immediate" mode is the
default behavior in which mailboxes are removed immediately. In
"delayed" mode, mailboxes are renamed to a special hiearchy
defined by the "deletedprefix" option to be removed later by
Allowed values: immediate, delayed
Look at the cyr_expire manpage for the options to purge these deleted
mailboxes. You'll probably want to add/modify an EVENT in cyrus.conf for
this. Here is what I use:
delprune cmd="/usr/local/cyrus/bin/cyr_expire -E 1 -X 7 -D 7" at=0100
More information about the Info-cyrus